Search MassTLC
Sign In

Sign In securely

Create Your Free Profile

MassTLC Calendar


Get email updates on upcoming events and
new content!




Press Release
Share |

Mass Technology Leadership Council Announces Finalist for the 17th Annual Technology Leadership Awards

MassTLC Annual Celebration of Innovation Casts Spotlight on Executives, Companies, and Innovative Technologies Across 16 Categories 

July 16, 2014, Cambridge, Mass. –The Microsoft NERD Center played host to a cocktail reception last night during which the Mass Technology Leadership Council (MassTLC) announced the slate of finalists for its 2014 Technology Leadership Awards. Several hundred members of the Massachusetts innovation community were in attendance, including this year’s award nominees representing the best of the region’s tech industry in 16 categories. 

“The 17th annual MassTLC Leadership Awards once again shines a spotlight on the vibrancy of the state’s position as both pioneer and leader in technologies that are fueling Massachusetts’ economy and changing the world,” said Tom Hopcroft, president and CEO of Mass Technology Leadership Council. “The people, organizations and technology categories represented by the Technology Leadership Award finalists only scratch the surface of the breadth and depth of talent and innovative spirit that makes its home here in the Bay State.” 

Finalists were selected from hundreds of nominations, as judged by panels of executives, investors, analysts, media and thought leaders in each of the 16 categories who participated in the selection process. The pool of finalists will be further narrowed during the coming weeks, with winners announced on Thursday, September 11, at the MassTLC Leadership Awards Gala at the Westin Waterfront in Boston. Details and advance registration are available at 

Finalists in each of the 16 categories include: 

CEO of the Year: David Aldrich of Skyworks Solutions, Inc., Tom Erickson of Acquia, Stephen Kaufer ofTripAdvisor, Niraj Shah of Wayfair, and Michael Simon of LogMeIn. 

CTO of the Year: Joe Bondi of RunKeeper, Dries Buytaert of Acquia, Patrick Harding of Ping Identity, Daniel Theobald of Vecna, and Ron Zalkind of CloudLock. 

Emerging Executive of the Year: Matthew Bellows of Yesware, Tim Bertrand of Acquia, Naomi Fried of Boston Children's Hospital, Emily Reichert of Greentown Labs, and Mike Volpe of HubSpot. 

Private Company of the Year: DynFiksuHubSpotNetProspex, and Veracode. 

Public Company of the Year: athenahealthDemandwareEnerNOCLogMeIn, and Pegasystems. 

Start-up to Watch: clypdCO EverywhereJebbitRailPod Inc., and Ras Labs, LLC. 

Innovative Technology of the Year – Big Data: EnerNOC for Energy Intelligence Software (EIS)HP Vertica forHP Vertica Flex ZonePixability, Inc for Data software., Prelert, Inc. for Anomaly detection software, andWordStream for AdWords Performance Grader PLUS. 

Innovative Technology of the Year – Cloud: Backupify for Enterprise-grade platformCarbonite for Carbonite ServerContent Raven for Cloud-based content distribution platformContinuum Managed IT Services forContinuum Cloud Console, and Scribe Software. 

Innovative Technology of the Year – Education Technology: EdTrips for EdTripseduCanon, Inc. for Online learning platformJogNog for JogNogKaymbu Inc. for Kaymbu, and Listen Edition for Custom lesson plans. 

Innovative Technology of the Year – Healthcare and Life Sciences: Catabasis Pharmaceuticals, Inc. for CAT-2003MC10 for Biostamp sensing systemsPHT Corporation for LogPad SystemSeres Health for SER-109, andTrialNetworks for Clinical Trial Optimization System. 

Innovative Technology of the Year – Internet of Things: Axeda for Axeda Private CloudLogMeIn for Xively Cloud Services platformMachineShop for MachineShop Services ExchangePTC for ThingWorx platform, andSystemOne for GxAlert. 

Innovative Technology of the Year – Mobile Applications: Mustbin for MustbinOpenbay for Openbay’s mobile appPaydiant for Transaction processing platformPing4 Inc. for ping4alerts!, and SavingStar, Inc. for SavingStar mobile app. 

Innovative Technology of the Year – Mobile Technology: Affirmed Networks for Affirmed Mobile Content CloudTM solutionGloboforce for Globoforce mobileModo Labs for Kurogo Mobile CampusScratch Wireless forScratch, and SessionM for mPLACES. 

Innovative Technology of the Year – Robotics: CyPhy Works, Inc. for PARCHarvest Automation, Inc. for HV-100iRobot Corporation for iRobot Ava 500, and Ras Labs, LLC for Synthetic. 

Innovative Technology of the Year – Sales & Marketing: Acquia for Acquia LiftInsightSquared forInsightSquared 3.0Jebbit for Jebbit platformPaytronix Systems, Inc. for Proprietary guest engagement platform, and Qstream for Qstream. 

Innovative Technology of the Year – Security: Aurus Inc. for whizPayCloudLock for CloudLockCo3 Systemsfor Co3 PlatformCourion Corporation for Access Insight, and Intralinks and Intralinks VIA. 

Click here to view the full list of finalist online, or go to:

Awards Program Platinum Sponsors
AericonInvest Northern IrelandMicrosoftPwCSkyscope

Gold SponsorsCHEN PR, K Square Law, Raytheon 

About The Mass Technology Leadership Council, Inc.
With more than 550 member companies, the Mass Technology Leadership Council (MassTLC) is the region’s leading technology association and the premier network for tech executives, entrepreneurs, investors and policy leaders. MassTLC’s purpose is to accelerate innovation by connecting people from across the technology landscape, providing access to industry-leading content and ideas and offering a platform for visibility for member companies and their interests. More at

                                                                                                   THANK YOU TO OUR GLOBAL SPONSORS                                                       

















Board of Directors
In the News
Contact Us
Member Directory
Tech Company
IT Department
Join Now
Renew Now
Annual Meeting
Boston TechJam
Innovation unConference
Leadership Awards
MassTLC Events
Community Events
Big Data
CXO Series
Internet of Things
Healthcare & Life Sciences
Sales & Marketing
Software Dev
Workforce Dev
Ed Foundation
K-12 Initiatives

Affiliate Directory

Content Library
Job Board
More Opportunities
Get Involved